Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath

Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative

For Halloween this year, I decided to create a wreath for our front door. But I didn’t want to do the traditional orange and black – instead I opted for something a little more glamorous. That’s how I came up with the Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath. It was also important to me that I didn’t spend too much time or money on it – all of the products used to create the wreath were bought at either Dollar Tree or at Michael’s just last week when they had a sale on Halloween items (I also enjoy shopping the week after Halloween for great discounts on products for next year!). Time wise, it only took me about an hour or two to create the wreath.

The supplies I used were:
– aluminum wire, bent into circles
– thinner jewellery wire
– glue gun
– 4 silver & black skull garlands (Dollar Tree)
– 1 magenta & black bat garland (Dollar Tree)
– 1 wired silver skull garland (Dollar Tree)
– 1 black sparkly LED foam skull (Dollar Tree)
– 1 bunch of black roses with spiders (Dollar Tree)
– 28″ of black sparkly ribbon (Michael’s)
– 1 magenta floral spray (Michael’s)

Note: if you need a bigger view of the process shots, just click on the photo!

Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative - Wire Frame  Step 1: Arrange aluminum wire into circle forms. Mine measured at 14″ diameter for the outside circle and 10.5″ diameter for the inside circle. Attach the two with wire “joints” – it doesn’t have to be too sturdy, since the garland will wrap around the forms. Just enough to keep them centered and spaced out while you work. Now, I used the aluminum circles because I happened to have the wire on hand – if you prefer, you can use a wreath form, pool noodle, or anything else that forms a circle!
Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative - Wrapping Garland  Step 2: Once your circles are formed, you can begin wrapping your garland around the form.  I used about 1 length of garland per quarter of the wreath, for 4 garlands in total.  When I started, and came to the end, I used a drop of warm glue (I didn’t use the hot setting for fear of melting the plastic) to secure the garland to the wreath form.
Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative - Garland  Step 3: After the black & silver skull garland was in place, I used one length of the black & magenta bat garland as an accent.  I wrapped it around loosely, just to give the wreath a bit of colour.
Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative - wrapping wire garland  Step 4: To give the wreath a bit of dimension, I cut small (about 5-10″) lengths of the wired skull garland that I wanted to stick out from the wreath. To secure the wired garland, I simply moved aside a bit of the fluffy garland (in an area where it was not glued down) and wrapped the wire around the aluminum frame. Then once it was secure, I took the end that was sticking out of the wreath and twirled it around my finger to create a little curl.
Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative - Ribbon  Step 5: At this point, the wreath should be taking a pretty good shape, and looking almost like the final product! This is a good time to cut your length of ribbon (I used about 28″ to hang it on my door from a screw – some people like to cut a super long ribbon and hang it from an upside down hook on the inside of the door – like this – but I prefer the inside of my door to be clean and free – either way, it’s your choice!)
Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative - embellishments  Step 6: Now that you know where the top & centre of your wreath is, you can add your embellishments! I used a magenta floral spray that I got for 50 cents at Michael’s, one black rose at the bottom corner and a spider from the same arrangement at the top left of the wreath, and a foam sparkly skull with a control on the back to give it LED lit-up eyes).  I used low-temp glue from the glue gun to set them all in place.

And… voila! Here is the final product, hanging on my door & ready for trick-or-treaters! If you have any questions about any steps in the process, please leave them in the comments. And if you make a wreath like this one, please link it up! I’d love to see it!  (As always – all link party linkups are on the “connect” page!)
Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath by Superflash Creative - Final Product!

3 thoughts on “Glitzy Glam Halloween Wreath

  1. That looks absolutely fab! Too bad Halloween isn’t really big here in my country, I mean malls and stores decorate and have activities for the kids but rarely do you see a house decorated for Halloween.

  2. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

